Let’s Lower Our Standards

Sometimes life can be really hard. There are bad days, bad months, and even bad years. At any given time, someone you know is suffering. (Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be a totally depressing post.) Sometimes the source of their pain is loss, stress, or feelings of inadequacy. I know personally, I put too much pressure on myself. I like it when my house is clean but that pretty much never happens anymore. I really like when I’m organized for my upcoming week. This is happening less and and less. I LOVE when I have my meals planned for the next seven days and the grocery shopping is done and everything is put away. This is becoming harder than passing algebra in college (it took three times but that is a very long, boring story that I won’t burden you with today… but maybe later). So, where am I going with this???

I think it’s time to lower our standards. There, I said it. Let’s go against the grain and do the exact opposite of what society tells us we should do. Let’s strive for mediocrity. Now I’m not saying you should never clean your house and end up on that hoarding show on TLC and I’m certainly not advocating letting your family go hungry. I’m saying, do the best you can and at the end of the day walk away from the “I should have done this” or “Why can’t I get it together like so and so?” 

Don’t sign your kids up for every activity just because “that’s what everyone else does.” We made the mistake of letting our two oldest do too many things this fall. Things started to get ugly. Meals were missed, nerves were frazzled, and tears were shed (and the girls were struggling too..). So we made some changes that didn’t make us very popular with our kids. But guess what? They LIVED!!! When they are older I know our schedules will be much busier but now isn’t that time for us.

Life is hard enough without worrying all the time. If ordering a pizza or having eggs and toast (again) means you get to sit down and talk to spouse or listen to your child tell you an outrageous story, then roll with it. If you forget to send a snack to your child’s class (again… ahem), you’ll get another chance. If you refuse to ever let your daughter leave the house after she turns sixteen…oh wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. I don’t want to regret missing the “good” stuff in life because I was too busy doing all of the “right” stuff.

This little movement of mine might not be popular. If that’s the case, mission accomplished 

 
5 thoughts on “Let’s Lower Our Standards

  1. Terrific post, Cassie!! You are not only a really great person (role model for me as well), you are a good writer. Mike would love this post. I love this post!

Leave a Reply

