This Is What REALLY Happened

My husband started a blog on January 1. This is a pretty big deal because he has a busy work schedule and he has decided to post everyday. I enjoy seeing what his topic of the day will be. Imagine my surprise when I found out I was today’s topic! Please read this before you proceed.. http://stephenmosesmd.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/cassie/

I was really touched that Stephen wrote about how we met and his words made me feel appreciated and loved. As I was reading I couldn’t help but chuckle (okay, I laughed loudly) about his interpretation of how we got to know each other. Yes, we had a lot of classes together that semester and yes, it did become quite clear after the first week that I would be seeing this Moses character a lot. He maintains I had a copy of his schedule but let’s be honest folks, that isn’t possible. Not even for someone as smart and connected as me.

Here’s what REALLY happened. I kept hearing teachers call roll, “Moses?”, “Mullins?” So naturally I turned around to find out who “Moses” was. I learned quickly that he was smart, always came to class, and I could ask for notes and find they lived up to my high standards. (And I only asked for notes because I got sick and missed a couple of classes). Then I noticed he also ate breakfast each morning. Then I noticed that he wasn’t bad looking. Finally, I found out he was a fellow Methodist and those were few and far between at Georgetown College. Some might even question the reason a biology major like the future Dr. Moses would take Politics of China during our senior year. Certainly it wasn’t to get back in the good graces of the future Mrs. Moses who was a Political Science minor…

It’s been 18 years since I met Stephen Moses in a basement classroom of John Hill Chapel on a cold January day. He can tell his version of our story and I can tell mine. The most important part is that our story continues. It isn’t always perfect and sometimes we get it wrong. But at the end of the day we can compare notes and admire our three best and most beautiful chapters and look forward to the stories yet to come.

 

 

Leave a Reply

