Winter Solstice Baby

Today is my birthday. Today is also the winter solstice and is the shortest day of the year. Based on the last three days, I’m grateful that darkness will come early.

On Friday night Stephen and I were supposed to have a rare night out while the girls stayed with my mom. I was looking forward to putting on my pj’s at 6 p.m. and renting a movie. Wild night my friends…. But my mom got sick (most likely because she helped me with school parties on Thursday) so plans changed. It wasn’t a big deal. We took the girls to a basketball game and they only went to the concession stand four times which is definitely progress. I still had those comfy pj’s on my mind and relaxing on the couch after the kids went to bed. And then Riley dropped a paint filled ornament and it shattered…all over our new carpet. The paint is bright blue. My carpet is NOT bright blue. As soon as we made sure she didn’t cut her hand, I started cleaning. Two hours later most of the paint was gone but there’s a noticeable blue spot that will require professional help. The relaxing night had disappeared along with my personality.

On Saturday I went to a yoga class and then braved Walmart. When I got home Bailey wasn’t looking so great. By noon she had a low fever. By 8 p.m. she had a high fever and threw up as Stephen was putting her to bed. So we moved her to the couch, stripped the bed, and prepared for a long night. Stephen sent me to bed (and I went without much protest and while I should be ashamed, I’m not) and he took the night shift.

Sunday morning at 6:30 a.m. I got up and Bailey had a temperature of 103.1. She was miserable. Lily came downstairs shortly and said, “Happy birthday mom!!” I managed a polite thank you and started another load of laundry. Stephen made me a lovely breakfast and a mimosa. He cut me off after the first cocktail because I had to teach Sunday School in a few hours. Riley and Lily did a wonderful job in their bell choir performance. When we came home Bailey’s fever was higher. I knew we weren’t going to be celebrating my birthday as planned and while I was disappointed, I hated seeing Bailey so sick.

Instead of eating out we will be grilling some steaks and I might polish off that champagne. I’ve decided to wait until next year to turn 38 but if you already bought me a gift, just drop it off. I can make an exception for presents.

Leave a Reply

